Kuranda Scenic Railway and Skyrail, Cairns

In the 1880’s, the tablelands near Cairns supported several towns with successful mining fields. After flooding in 1882 caused roads to be cut-off and miners faced total starvation without supplies, a new transport route to withstand weather was desperately needed. Construction started on a railway through the dense rainforest, sheer cliffs, high peaks and steep slopes. Using their own picks, shovels, dynamite and bare hands, teams of men worked for around 10 years to create the 15 tunnels, 93 curves, dozens of bridges and 75 kilometres of track that became the Kuranda Railway. Opened in 1891, the railway link still operates today, nowadays called the Kuranda Scenic Railway.

Inside the historic, but comfortable and roomy, carriages

I caught the Kuranda Scenic Railway at Central Cairns Railway Station. As my train journeys out of Cairns and meanders up to Kuranda, the changing landscape glides past – first urban, then commercial, industrial, residential and then rural. After around 20 minutes I arrive at picturesque Freshwater Station, built in the style of the historic railway. We stop for a few minutes to pick up passengers.

Once past Freshwater Station, the track starts to climb into the rainforest and the stunning scenery and views really begin.

All along my journey there is a clear and informative commentary about the history of this fascinating track. The panoramic windows provide stunning, beautiful and sometimes breath-taking views and highlights along the way. At one point one of the friendly train staff comes through the carriage and offers to take photos of passengers aboard, so that we each would have a memento of the journey. That is a really great gesture, taken up by most.

Kuranda Scenic Railway travels across Stoney Creek Bridge

The great part about the commentary is that I get good notice of items of particular interest or of places where the best photos can be taken. Although for most of them the train doesn’t stop for photographs, it winds its way at a steady pace so when I am advised of a view of the Cairns hinterland, coastline, approaching Horseshoe Bend or the marvellous Stoney Creek Falls, I do have a good chance to photograph each one. The train then makes a stop for photographs at Barron Falls. This cascade is marvellous, particularly as there had been a lot of rain in the area over the previous two weeks. The train stops for around 15 minutes here, so I take the opportunity to view the stunning falls and “stretch my legs”. After Barron Falls, the journey concludes about 10 minutes later at Kuranda.

I disembark the train and see the very pretty Kuranda Station – such a beautifully maintained historic building. Refreshments and merchandise are available here, but I take the clearly marked path up the hill to town (note, you may need to allow some time to walk the 500metres or so to the town itself). I look forward to exploring Kuranda.

Kuranda Railway Station

As I understand it, two trains come up to Kuranda each morning (departing Cairns at 8.30am and 9.30am) and two trains travel back to Cairns each afternoon (departing Kuranda at 2.00pm and 3.30pm). Kuranda is not large at all, but there are several activities –  such as wildlife (with the Kuranda Butterfly Sanctuary), indigenous culture (with traditional dance, didgeridoo, boomerang and spear throwing), World Heritage Rainforest, art galleries, markets and shops. I also see restaurants, cafes, bakeries and hotels for refreshments. The Kuranda Market is popular too for local arts and crafts.

I plan to take the Skyrail back down to sea level and I find the station is clearly marked, right next to Kuranda Railway Station. It takes about 10 minutes to walk back down the hill from town. The Skyrail is a continuously running cableway with passenger cars on it. The cars move along all the time, so when I climb aboard I need to step into the car while it momentarily pauses at the station, but a very helpful staff member is there to assist me to do this.

The wonderful gliding Skyrail

Each car will fit 4-6 adults. As it runs continuously, there is not really a timetable and I only need to wait at each station for around a minute for the next empty car to arrive for me to use.

The Skyrail is a lovely ride – I glide along above the rainforest treetops, which is peaceful and enjoyable. The first stop (after 10 minutes) is Barron Falls. When I see the falls this time I’m on the other side of the same valley, from the Barron Falls station on the Kuranda Railway. From this side the aspect of the falls is far more impressive. It is an awesome waterfall so I do recommend the short walk to each of the three lookouts for photographs. There is also an information centre at this station and several stops to learn about the area’s culture, history and wildlife.

Barron Falls from the Skyrail station lookout

The next stop is Red Peak. Here I need to vacate my passenger car and change Skyrail tracks to head further down the valley. I follow a boardwalk that encircles the station and Skyrail staff are very helpful in making sure I go in the right direction. In fact, at all times the Skyrail staff make sure I know what’s happening and what’s coming next.

After Red Peak, the next stop is the Caravonica Terminal and the end of the ride. The Skyrail takes a photograph of me in the car as I reach the station, which makes a nice memento of my day. I did a bit of souvenir shopping then drive the 15 minutes south back to Cairns city (the other direction is Port Douglas, a 50 minute drive north). I think you could also get a Skyrail Coach to your hotel if its in Cairns city, northern beaches or Port Douglas. Skyrail is open 9.00am to 5.15pm every day except Christmas Day and if you don’t get off at each stop the one-way journey probably takes around 30 minutes.

It is a really nice way to spend a day.

Leave a comment